Gingerbread Muffins

At the weekend, I decided to do some more baking to try and keep up with my cooking&baking section of my blog. And also because I like to eat muffins. A lot. I decided to make a healthier muffin (I really wanted double. Infact TRIPLE chocolate chip) and opted for the Gingerbread Muffin. I like baking a little more than cooking as you can see with my banana muffins and my gooey chocolate brownies!

 

Okay so here is the ingredients..

250g Self Raising Flour

1/2 Teaspoon Bicarb Soda

1/2 Teaspoon of salt (In hindsight, I wouldn’t have added the salt because I felt I could taste it too much!)

2 Teaspoons of Ground Ginger

1 Teaspoon of Ground Cinnamon

175ml Milk

Pinch of Nutmeg

150g Soft Light Brown Sugar

2 Tablespoons of Golden Syrup

1 Tablespoons of Black Treacle

85g Butter

1 Eggy

What to do..

Preheat the oven to 190c and place 10 muffin cases into a muffin tin or on a tray. Mix the flour, bicarb, salt, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar in a large bowl. I added all the ingredients and mixed it with my hands to combine each element.

Put the wet ingredients into a small saucepan. I.e the golden syrup, treacle, butter and a third of the milk. Heat very gently until the butter is melted. I stirred it with a fork until the syrup and treacle blended.

PSSST…

(If you put a little olive oil or boiling hot water on your spoon before putting it in the treacle it will make it easier to work with!)

Stir in the rest of the milk into the pan. Add the wet ingredients to the dry all at once and mix it briefly. Before hand, mix the egg in a bowl and then add it into the combined mixture. I do this separate because the first time I made these I added it to the pan of wet ingredients and it started to cook the egg.. Gingerbread muffins with bits of scrambled egg are not nice!

I poured the batter into a jug with a lip for easy pouring into the cases. The batter is liquidy enough to do this.

Cook for 20 minutes!

And eat.

La

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Updates

Leave a Reply

