Scissor Quirk

One of my favourite blogs to view each day is Scissor Quirk. Michelle has such a lovely blog and the cutest items for sale. I am always so inspired by her blog posts and in particular her recent post about her craft books gave me the motivation to share my favourite books too!

It is a small collection, but I lugged it out to the garden step to photograph. (I know all my photos are outside, but my camera prefers it i feel..inside the photos are grainy and not the greatest quality.)

I will start from left to right and share the title and also anything significant about them!

Vegetable Growing Month by Month. by John Harrison.

I recently purchased this book to learn more about gardening. It is really helpful and clear and a much needed glossary of terms!

Craft, inc. by Meg Mateo Ilasco.

I found out about this book @ I go by Katie. It is so helpful and really made me think about my business and the realities of owning an indie business.

The Great Gatsby. by F.S.Fitzgerald.

This book is tatty and worn as it was mine from high school. It is, to this day, my favourite book. I love the imagery and the decadence of the jazz age.

Muffins Galore. by Catherine Atkinson.

I purchased this book on a trip to London @ Books for Cooks. (P.s. That shop is cook/baker/culinary heaven.) I love this book. Each recipe for muffins that I make is from or adapted from a muffin recipe by Catherine. It is so colourful with lovely picture and clear concise instructions.

Sew! by Cath Kidston.

I got this for my first crafty Christmas. Cath Kidston products are a real treasure of mine and to have the inspiring book by Cath is even more rewarding than strutting my stuff with a spotty bag.

Home Sweet Sewn. by Alice Butcher and Ginny Farquar.

Full of inspiration and the idea for my garlands derived from this book.

Card Making. by

My gran gave me this book for inspiration. I love seeing other peoples cards and learning the techniques they use. I particularly like how it details where everything is from.

52 Scrapbooking Challenges. by Elsie Flannigan.

This book took forever to arrive, but it was worth it! I love Elise’s ideas and her handwriting!

Vintage Fashion. by Emma Baxter-Wright, Karen Clarkson, Sarah Kennedy and Kate Mulvey.

Full of inspiration. Especially when wanting to source a new look for a particular night, its nice to look at different styles and ways of pairing together certain pieces.

British Fashion Designers. by Hywel Davies and Nick Knight.

Like it says on the tin. An in depth tour of the fashion gods of Britain!

Twiggy: A life in photographs. by Terence Pepper, Robin Muir and Melvin Sokolsky

No explanation needed! :-)

Blow by Blow. by Detmar Blow and Tom Sykes.

The most tragic yet inspirational book i’ve read. Her life had its ups and downs, but she will always be remembered for the footprint she left in the fashion world.

Kirstie’s Homemade Home. by Kirstie Allsopp.

This book was my real motivator to start my business. Her ideas and her TV show were so enjoyable and made old crafts new again.

The complete guide to Card Making. by Sarah Beaman.

Very inspiring. Her ideas are a little different to mine. She prefers extremely busy and decorative cards whereas I prefer simple and fresh cards.

The Dress Makers Technique Bible. by Lorna Knight.

I haven’t actually used this book yet as I still have to take a stab at making my own clothes. Some day, that dream will come true.

Alexander McQueen: Genius of a Generation. by Kristin Knox.

I struggled to read this book, although I was desperate to find out more. I felt the sentences were so long and confusing, with huge words that I didn’t know. Hm.

100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet. by Lesley Stanfield.

Such a lovely book with beautiful ideas. I find it a little hard to follow the patterns though because I learned in an American format via Youtube!

Thank you Michelle!

3 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates

3 responses to “Scissor Quirk

  1. Wow, every time I stop by there are new design elements to your blog! :) Loving the new background pattern, so cute!

  2. You own the talent of brilliant writing I must confess. Your posts incorporates the reality which we cannot even get it anywhere else. I request you humbly please keep such brilliant contents.And yes i have digg your site littlemessyla.wordpress.com .

  3. We stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to going over your web page again.

Leave a Reply

