Knitting up a Storm.

Tonight, or should I say this morning, I have been knitting up a storm to finish some last minute Christmas presents. (I say this morning because my sleeping pattern is all crazy these days, so it is currently 2.20am and I am wide awake!). I thought i’d dedicate a little post to my love of knitting.

If you are looking for a new, creative resolution for 2012 then look no further. Learn to knit. If you are now thinking “pfft, no way. It’s too hard/grannyish/time consuming blah blah” then seriously think again! It is the most rewarding and enjoyable hobby of mine.

I will explain how I got into knitting, because it’s sort of a funny little story:
This time last year, I was having a bit of an identity crisis. I didn’t know who I was or what I liked and I couldn’t shake the feeling everyday that I was the only person who didn’t have a hobbie. My mum cooks and bakes, my dad and brother love bikes and cars, my sister loves fashion..but I didn’t have anything. What was I good at? So I went to John Lewis and picked up some needles and some balls of wool.

My mum was a knitter so she explained it a little to me, although I did find that my most valuable resource was YouTube! So I highly reccomend it. So I started to do some sort of knitting, making lots of mistakes and getting so frustrated I nearly snapped the needles. I stopped and started to cry! I thought I would never get good at anything and knitting was my last hope.

Long story short, with a little perseverance and some more YouTube watching, I am now a very competent knitter. I can knit without looking, I can knit really fast and I find myself a bit lost when watching TV if I don’t have a pair of needles in my hand! I really really really encourage everyone to pick up some needles and give it a try, because you will all love it in the end. You can also make the sweetest gifts like these little wine bottle scarves that I whipped up tonight!

Christmas is so soon! I hope you are all in the spirit.
With lots of christmassy love and cheer, La. xx

3 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates

3 responses to “Knitting up a Storm.

  1. Sweetie, I adore the content in your little blog! I’m currently following through GFC but I know it will no longer allow me to follow wordpress blog, do you have bloglovin too? Have a merry Christmas!

  2. I’ve been knitting like crazy too! I always say next year I’ll start early but I never do!

  3. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! God bless you! xoxo ♥

Leave a Reply

