52 Weeks of Baking: Week Five.

Italian Hazelnut Cake

This is last weeks 52 Weeks of Baking post, I am ashamed to say! Time just escapes us all these days, don’t you agree?
I can’t believe it is Thursday already and the weekend is just at our fingertips – Hoorah. Tonight I have a meeting with my local Stampin’ Up demonstrator. I am prepared with my notebook, my money and also my shopping self control.. (But I might just leave that behind..)

This cake is extremely delicious and (so far) the most scientific and quite tricky cake I have made. The recipe is from Rachel Allen’s Bake and is really easy to follow. It tastes just like a Kinder Bueno bar- which I love! For this recipe you need a food processor and a handheld mixer for bashing hazelnuts, creaming egg yolks and fluffing egg whites. There is no flour in the cake which means your soft peaked egg whites are your raising agents. This would be a great recipe for anyone with a Gluten-Free diet, if you used gluten-free baking powder.

(I don’t particularly like icing, which is why most of my recipes so far have been icing-less.)

Have a lovely night!
La,x.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates

2 responses to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Five.

  1. I have a soft spot for Kinder Bueno bars, so I think I need to try this recipe! Is it online somewhere, or is there any chance you could email it to me??

    Lou x
    http://www.foxywhiskers.com

  2. You have me sold at “tastes just like a Kinder Bueno bar”, sounds so delicious! I’m not a huge fan of icing either, they’re all far too sweet for my liking.

Leave a Reply

