52 Weeks of Baking: Week Six.

Valentine’s Jammy Dodgers.

Hello Lovebirds! I hope you are all having a lovely Valentine’s day whatever you are doing. Personally, I am going all out this year and wearing a variety of heart themed things and pink nails. I look like one giant greetings card..or cupid..or stupid? I am not quite sure. Although, I certainly hope it’s not the latter.

If you are looking for something heart themed to bake today then look no further! I have the simplest and most delicious recipe for jammy dodgers. They are made up of 3 ingredients. No eggs or liquid ingredients. Just flour, sugar and butter. How easy is that?

All you need to think is 2, 4 and 6oz. 6oz of plain flour, 4oz of softened unsalted butter and 2oz of caster sugar. The recipe is from Rachel Allen’s first cookery book and is orignally called Jane’s Biscuits. But since I have jazzed them up a little and made them hearty, we will call them Valentine’s Jammy Dodgers.

Simply throw in your flour, sugar and butter in the food processor. Pulse together until the mixtures are combined and are of a light breadcrumb consistency. At this stage you may panic, as I did, that there is no possible way this mixture will combine to be a dough. But it will, no worries.

Empty out your crumbs onto a board. With hot hands*, handle the mixture and work it till it combines. Keep pressing and squishing and try and get into a slab shape. At this stage, I put mine in a plastic lunch bag and popped into the fridge for about 30 minutes and allowed it to harden. I then took it out, again with hot hands, and began rolling it out till it was about half a centimeter/a quarter inch.

*When I say hot hands..I just mean body heat. My hands are normally pretty cold so I just rubbed them together for a little while. I must look crazy in the kitchen..*

I used two cutters to achieve my hearty look: a scalloped/fluted circle cutter and a heart cutter. Cut out two circles for each jammy dodger, the top having a heart cut out. You then have little hearts that you have cut out to cook too, which is good!

Cook for about 10 minutes at 180c until golden brown. Now, this is important, when you bring out your biscuits..leave them on the tray you have used to cool. Don’t transfer them.

They are very fragile biscuits. So to save broken hearts, just leave them on the tray to completely cool before you scoop them up.

Once cooled, add your jam to your full circles and then place the heart circle on top. Lots of jam to make it spill out the sides and the heart. And there you go!

So simple but so gorgeous and so delicious.
Enjoy your Valentine’s day. La. xx

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Updates

One response to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Six.

  1. Jammy dodgers make me think of Doctor Who!

    They look delicious, and so sweet. I’ve always wanted to make them.. and now you’ve inspired me to do so. ♥

Leave a Reply

