52 Weeks of Baking: Week Eight.

Rhubarb Muffins

Today’s baking was delicious Rhubarb Muffins. They are light and fluffy with a sweet and sour tang. Perfect for a cup of tea. The recipe was from Rachel Allen’s Home Cooking and is definitely a treat you should all try!

Rhubarb muffins have no butter in them. Instead, it’s a tablespoon full of sunflower oil which makes the whole mix extrememly simple! There is also buttermilk in the mixture which gives the muffins a little tang. Buttermilk is a sweet/sour taste, so combining it with the rhubarb gives it a delicious tangy hit.

Soft brown sugar is used in the recipe and you also keep 25g aside to sprinkle over the top of the muffins as they go into the oven. Which is pretty and gives the muffins a lovely sweetness when you take a bite. It really is a simple recipe and would be great in the heart of summer for a garden party snack.

Above are my new cups and saucers and plates. I was so excited to use them in a photoshoot. I am spoiled for choice with the amount of cups I have in my room these days. I originally planned to turn them into candles and sell them..but now..I am a little too attached. Help!

XX

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Updates

One response to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Eight.

  1. I love those plates! You have such pretty kitchenware :)

    Rhubarb and apples is one of my favourite things, so I think I will have to try making these muffins sometime~

Leave a Reply

