52 Weeks of Baking: Week Ten.

Victoria Sponge Cake

Sometimes, all you need is the simplest of deserts that are actually the most delicious. I find that Victoria Sponges are the perfect little treat for any time of the day: breakfast with your coffee, lunch with your tea or desert with your milk. I love the vanilla sponge and the jam filling. In my cake, I added whipped cream and sliced strawberries for added flavour.

It is someone very specials birthday today. My little dog Bert! He is four, so we made him this cake and he got the tiniest slither of the sponge and loved it. I decorated the cake with some icing sugar and then some wooden skewers with paper bunting. To make the bunting, just use this tutorial and reduce the size to whichever you need! I did 4cm squares. I used some twine to attach it to the skewers and Hurrah! A simple display for the most delicious cake ever.

The recipe was from The Great British Bake Off cookery book. Just 225g Butter, 225g Caster Sugar, 225g SR Flour, 2 Level tsps of Baking Powder and 4 large eggs. Beat together in the food processor and put into two lined baking tins for 25 mins at 180C. It’s really a beautiful and light cake with a touch of spring and summer time.

I ate a pretty hefty slice I have to say. I have a weakness for jam, I realise now.
Good night lovely viewers, each day I am overwhelmed by your love and support for Messyla. I hope to always give you delightful things to look at. xx

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates

2 responses to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Ten.

  1. Cute bunting! And I love Victoria Sponge cake! ♥

  2. Pingback: Foxy Whiskers » Blog Archive » A Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

