52 Weeks of Baking: Week Eleven.

Petits Pots aux Chocolat.

I am not sure whether this counts as baking. But I am sure it does. It’s a desert, I think that means it categorises itself as a baking challenge for this week. Whatever it is, it is simple and exceedingly delicious. No oven cooking is needed for this recipe, it’s just whizzed and cooled in the freezer for about 6 hours. (If they get to that stage, I ate mine way before they went into the fridge. Sigh.)

I wanted an opportunity to use my ‘new’ retro mugs. I picked them up at the jumbo sale with a coffee pot, milk jug and sugar bowl too. I am the biggest fan of dainty china but, for some days, a hearty and deep mug is the perfect solution and a total excuse for some chocolate indulging.

The recipe is from Nigella Bites, although I did some tweaking to adjust it to my taste buds.
200g of Chocolate. I used a mixture of dark and milk chocolate.
150ml Double Cream.
100ml of Semi-Skimmed Milk.
1/2 Teaspoon of Vanilla Essence.
1 Egg.

All you need to do is whiz up your chocolate to smithereens in a food processor. Heat your milk, cream and vanilla in a pan until almost boiled. Add to the crumby chocolate and allow to settle for 30 seconds. Blitz for a further 30 seconds and add your egg. Process for 45 seconds. I was sure to follow these instructions, because I believe that is how you cook the egg and melt your chocolate! Add to your cups and shave some chocolate over the top. I added some raspberries for that zing of fruit with the deep mysterious chocolate.

In hindsight, I would use smaller cups. As much as I love over indulging in chocolate, I think many people would find it a little sickly in such a large quantity. Overall, it’s the perfect little desert for Mother’s Day. I hope you are all treating your mothers well! xx

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates

2 responses to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Eleven.

  1. Andi

    Yum! I’d count it as baking. I count stove top custards and things like that as baking even though they don’t get baked. There’s something about the making sweets that make them feel different from other cooking.

  2. Oh this looks delicious La! I love your adorable mugs too. This 52 weeks of baking is such a fun challenge!

Leave a Reply

