52 Weeks of Baking: Week Thirteen.

Cheesy Biscuits. 

Savory treats have been something in the back burner in my mind for a while. I knew that it was something my tummy would love and that I would enjoy making..but wanted to hold off for a bit and get as much chocolate and sweetness first as possible. Easter came and I ate my weight in chocolate Lindt bunnies, so it became time for a healthier snack that I could bake up.

Lottie Duncan’s cookery book is in utter delight to flick through. She has a cottage, loves pink and her cats. I’m sold! So today I felt I needed to make something from her book and present it beautifully – in homage to her beautiful home.

These biscuits were extremely simple and a joy to create. I love cheese. It’s no big secret, but I could eat cheese until I turned into a mouse. (Cause that’s what you would turn into if you ate so much cheese isn’t it?) These cheesy biscuits have parmesan and mature cheddar in them..making them taste exactly like your childhood ‘mini cheddars’. Maybe they should be called Mini Cheddar Biscuits instead..

Anywho!
The recipe is: 

110g Unsalted Butter
110g Self-Raising Flour
75g Mature Cheddar (grated)
25g Parmesan Cheese (grated)
Generous Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
1 Egg, Beaten.
Seeds of your choosing: I chose pumpkin and sunflower.

Basically I just through all the ingredients in the food processor, blitz together to form a dough and then emptied onto a rolling board. With my hands, I rolled the dough into a sausage shape and patted the edges to make it a cylinder. Wrap in cling film and leave in the fridge for 30mintues.

Take out your dough and start to cut it into discs. Place on a baking tray and brush some beaten egg on top of each. I then placed on some black sesame seeds for decoration and flavour!

Bake for 5-10 minutes at 180 degrees. Or until golden brown and firm. Voila. They are so delicious..I think I made about 20ish. They are all gone! That’s the sign of a good bake. xx

 

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates

4 responses to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Thirteen.

  1. Lyndall

    These sound so good! I think they’d be perfect with soup in cold weather. Mm, cheese :9

  2. paperdoll83

    These look delicious and I’m definitely going to make these! Just one question, do you think they would work with different types of cheese?

  3. paperdoll83

    These look delicious and I’m definitely going to make them! Just one question though, do you think they would work with different types of cheese?

Leave a Reply

