52 Weeks of Baking: Week Fifteen

Breakfast Muffins. 

I have been thinking about seeded muffins for a while. It’s something I would love to have each day for breakfast with a little jam – so ideally something I could possibly freeze and bring out at any time to pop into the oven. If they last long enough to freeze that is!

This is my second batch of these. I made the error of not putting a threatening note of some sort on the first batch and, of course, they all got snapped up before my photoshoot!

I couldn’t find any muffins that were seeded that took my fancy, they were either too complicated or had something that I didn’t like in them. So I felt it best to think up something myself. It feels so amazing to be concocting little experiments with my baking..I am in the know-how about the different raising agents and flavours…so I feel up to the challenge of creating my own recipe!

Sweet or savory was my first issue. I decided on a slightly sweet muffins with pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds on the top..with poppy seeds throughout the mixture.

Theres nothing better than starting your day with a hot muffins, some jam and a hot coffee using my Artisan Roast beans. It sets me off to a good day of creating and being a lovely person. Heres my little invention:

300g self-raising flour
50g unsalted butter
80g caster sugar
Tsp of baking powder
225ml semi-skimmed milk
2 eggs
50g poppy seeds
Mix of favourite seeds for on top.

Thats all! I threw it all into the food processor and then scooped the batter into the muffin cases using an icecream scoop to get them equal. I decorated each with their seeds before they went into the oven.  And Voila. It’s that simple..and extremely delicious.

x

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Updates

One response to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Fifteen

  1. Pingback: 52 Weeks of Baking: Week Sixteen. | littlemessyla

Leave a Reply

