52 Weeks of Baking: Week Seventeen.

Vanilla, chocolate and coffee muffins. 

I know, another muffin recipe. I am enjoying making muffins so much these days. They are simple, easy and also they are easy to pop into your bag and enjoy anywhere without a spoon. Lately I have been extremely busy with orders and haven’t had much time to bake or blog, which I apologise for! I miss blogging so much when I don’t get a chance to.

These muffins are another experiment. They are a simple chocolate chip muffin recipe like last week but with two heaped tablespoons of ground coffee. I used my favourite coffee from Artisan Roast to give it a little edge! You could use instant coffee if you prefer.

I love coffee all day, everyday. So when I feel I have hit my limit of what I can drink..why not eat it! The recipe is:

300g self-raising flour
50g unsalted butter
80g caster sugar
Tsp of baking powder
225ml semi-skimmed milk
2 eggs
125g Good Quality Chocolate
Teaspoon Vanilla Bean Paste
2 Heaped tablespoons of ground coffee.

It’s a wonderfully liquidy batter that is easily pliable.  I scooped them up using an ice-cream scoop and put them into a silicone baking tray. Again, I used plain cases to enable me to use a multitude of colour in the photoshoot! Oh the joys of being a baking-blogger, albeit a beginner.

*A little tip: Working with a silicone baking tray can be tricky. As you can imagine it flops and bends all over the place and is especially hard to manoeuvre when hot. My top tip is to use a chopping board/bread board or any long board you have in the kitchen. Place the tray on it before you add the batter and use it to transfer to and from the oven! *

Coffee flavoured cakes are a success for me, a coffee geek! You can always use de-caffinated coffee if you are having it as a late night desert. Have a lovely weekend, what have you got planned? x

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Updates

Leave a Reply

