52 Weeks of Baking: Week Nineteen.

Coconut Loaf

Coconut is something that has never tickled my fancy. I am not a fan of bounty bars and I have never really liked coconut snowballs. Although, I know my family love coconut so I decided to make them this little treat.

The recipe derives from a basic Madeira Cake but with some tweaks and alterations here and there:

A little butter to grease the loaf tin
175g Unsalted Butter
175g Sugar
3 Eggs
1 Tsp Vanilla Bean Paste
225g Plain Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
2 Tbsp Milk
75g Desiccated Coconut (in with the flour)

For the icing:
The icing is just icing sugar and water to make your usual white paste. Spread onto the loaf, when cooled, and then pat in as much desiccated coconut as you see fit!

I use my food processor for pretty much all of these recipes on my 52 Weeks challenge. I love how simple loafs are: they can be whizzed up, popped in the oven and be finished while you do the rest of your work. A definite busy-girls bake!

I cooked the loaf for about 70 mins (+) untill it came out clean on the skewer. The recipe (from Rachel Allen’s Food for Friends) suggests cooking for 55-60 minutes, but I found that mine needed a little longer to be perfect.

The lacey table cover pictured above was gifted to me by the sweetest man in the village. He stopped by my work and dropped off a bag of old sheets and table cloths that were his wifes that he though I would love. And I do! Most are round, which is perfect since we just got our round kitchen table, and even scalloped. I also got some bed sheets with roses on them. Swoon! These lovely people make my day.

Saturday…time for some coffee and then some pizza with beer! Enjoy.xxo

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Updates

One response to “52 Weeks of Baking: Week Nineteen.

  1. Yes! Finally someone writes about all recipes banana bread.

Leave a Reply

