Bird Watching at Breakfast

Something that has become a hobby of ours, since moving to a cottage, is bird watching! I never used to understand it.. but I genuinely feel it is such an under-rated hobby. I get such enjoyment out of watching the birds every morning with breakfast. And feeding the birds is always our top-priority in the morning (before we feed ourselves!). But, once the bird seed, biscuits and fruit is out.. the show begins!

We have about 16 different types of birds that visit throughout the day/week. For a family who have gone from having no birds whatsoever to getting any birds at all is truely remarkable! So when we discovered that our house is a go-to, hip and happenin’, place for birds to eat and hang out.. we were overjoyed!

When I first saw a Robin, I was completely taken aback! They are so beautiful and I always wonder whether they know just how beautiful they are. Now, she comes every morning for breakfast. (See here for a photo.)

I feel so lucky each day when I see all the little birdies. Some of my favourites are the chaffinch, robins and sparrows! But I love them all.. Does this mean I am now a crazy bird lady too?  x

 

**Also would like to add that for all the wonderful (& hardworking!) birds out there at the moment, it is very difficult for them to find natural food supplies. So a little biscuit or two, household scraps or bird seed would go a long way in preparing them for Springtime. **

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Updates, Gardening

2 responses to “Bird Watching at Breakfast

  1. Hi! I’m nominating you for the ‘Versatile Blogger’ award I hope you feel able to accept it and pass it on to others but anyway please regard it as an appreciation of your blog.

    You can view your nomination and the associate ‘rules’ here:http://rainbowjunkiecorner.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/versatile-blogger-award-2/

  2. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. Cheers

Leave a Reply

