Banana & Chocolate Muffins

Yesterday I woke up and had a notion to bake. I always get little urges to bake but never really get around to it anymore. Baking is a luxury and something I would love to do more regularly. Maybe one day I will be able to bake every Sunday night for the week ahead. But for now, I will see it as a little reward!

We had some bananas that needed using up and making banana loaves/muffins/cakes is like my go-to, staple recipe. It’s my favourite thing to bake because it is simple and quite frankly, can never go wrong. With the added bonus of it being one of the most light and delicious cakes around! Heres the recipe.. Try it! You will love it.

Ingredients: 
3 bananas. Fairtrade, always.
3oz Unsalted Butter
3oz Caster Sugar
1 Egg
8oz Self Raising Flour
1/4 Teaspoon of Bicarb.
2 Tablespoons of Milk
100-110g Milk and Dark Choc mix

What to do:
This recipe is one we have used within the family for years and years. I never quite understood why it was in ounces, but it’s been that way for as long as I can remember and I have never thought to convert it.

Literally, all I do for this recipe is dump all ingredients into the food processor. I find the food processor is the best tool in the kitchen for cooking and for baking. So, add all the ingredients and whiz until smooth and together. Cut your chocolate into little pieces and hand mix through your mixture.

I use an ice-cream scoop to put my mixture into the cake cases – it keeps them the same size so they cook evenly at the same rate. Place in the oven for about an hour at 180 degrees. Aga users – I put it into the baking oven and then the last 10-15 minutes, I brought it up to the roasting oven. To make them more golden and with a little crunch on top.

That’s all there is! It’s so simple and easy to do. And is fabulously tasty with a cold glass of milk. Or, a hot coffee. Y’know.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Baking and Cooking, Daily Updates

One response to “Banana & Chocolate Muffins

  1. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    Chocolate and bananas is so good, it sounds even more delicious baked!!

Leave a Reply

